Broadford Seymour AEC boundaries

Nationals welcome Broadford and Seymour in boundary shake-up

25 June 2018

Broadford, Seymour and surrounding areas will soon become part of the Federal seat of Murray, which is set to be renamed Nicolls.

The electoral boundary redistribution has been undertaken by the Australian Electoral Commission to ensure each state and territory gains political representation in proportion to their population, with the final decision announced today.

Member for Euroa and Deputy Leader of The Nationals Steph Ryan has welcomed the changes to Murray saying Broadford and Seymour would be well represented by Nationals MP Damian Drum at a federal level.

“The Nationals are delighted to welcome Seymour and Broadford into the new seat of Nicolls and I know Damian Drum will be a great advocate for us locally.

“I can’t understand why Rob Mitchell doesn’t want to represent Seymour and Broadford. The Victorian Labor party have tried so hard to push these communities out of the seat of McEwen, a move that Mr Mitchell has publically supported.

Ms Ryan said the Victorian Labor Party’s submission to the federal redistribution sought to move Seymour and Broadford into the seat of Murray, a recommendation the AEC has today adopted.

"The Nationals are the only party dedicated to being a voice for regional communities, to small and medium businesses and families choosing to live outside major metropolitan areas,” Ms Ryan said.­­­­­

“We support strong and vibrant communities and want to see more investment in regional areas.

“Strong road and rail connections, accessible quality healthcare and education and supported sport and community groups are all part of what The Nationals are fighting for.

“The communities of Broadford and Seymour have so much to offer but they need strong representation to ensure they get their fair share,” Ms Ryan said.

To see Labor’s submission to the AEC visit:  

Together we can make a difference

Help build a better Euroa

Volunteer Now
Created with NationBuilder